1/1 – 1/2: Moving Day and Laying Low

The 1st and 2nd of January were essentially down days for Nate and I, which was much needed after the initial couple days of our trip.

After seeing Yuri on NYE and talking we him about the problems with the reservation at his mom’s house, he assured me that there was a room for us at the house, and that they’d been waiting for our arrival. I knew that moving to the house (which included all meals, and living with other volunteers) would be much better for Nate. After a long New Years Day lunch at the house with Haydee (Yuri’s mom), Yuri, and the other volunteers living there, i decided that we had to move. So we packed up New Year’s Day, and told Señor Carlos that we were moving to Yuri’s. While I had to eat the full AirBnB payment I made for Carlos’ house, I didn’t care given what I knew would be a better experience for Nate.

The rest of the first two days of the year were spent lounging around the house, as I finished my book, “Wave” by Sonali Deraniyagala, and Nate finished both of the “Haddix” series books by Margaret Peterson books he brought. “Wave” is an account by a lady who lost her husband, two sons, and parents in the 2004 tsunami that struck Sri Lanka. Largely therapeutic for her, as she goes through the tsunami itself, but more of the aftermath of dealing with the unimaginable loss. One that made me think hard about family and what’s important, and helped to affirm the time I’m spending with Nate here in Peru.

20140104-134141.jpg

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Family, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

