The Magic of Doing One Thing at a Time – by Tony Schwartz

Tony SchwartzI liked Tony Schwartz’s post in the Harvard Business Review online version so much that I wanted to devote an entire blog post about it. Read it here.  It’s not often that you read something that really resonates at the core, but Tony’s post did that to me for some strange reason. Maybe it’s because it seems like I’m always juggling, and have the feeling that a ball is just about to drop.

I love most the idea of having better meeting discipline. While Tony suggests keeping meetings to 45 minutes, I might try to push that to 30 minutes. Also, I’m horrible at always checking my phone for emails during meeting. I’ve got to stop that, so I’m making a pledge here and now (hopefully more than just 5 of you listening) that I won’t bring my phone to meetings.

What I love most reading are the comments to Tony’s post, which shows other people are feeling the exact way that I am. How liberating, but also sad. No wonder hypertension is such a problem.

Let me know what you think of Tony’s post, and hopefully it can help you to become a little more productive in your day.

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

