February 2012 Wine Club Results (Red and White)

I’m very tardy on entering info from the latest blind wine tasting of our Ruby Hill Wine Club.  I haven’t been keeping people as up to date as I should on the things I’ve been trying lately, and I can’t wait to finally put a post together on my new found wine love, white burgundies.  But that will have to wait for now.

This month we had two separate tastings, a red crew and a white crew.  Not quite sure how that all evolved, but we sort of went with it.  Wasn’t our normally well developed theme, and was more of a free form expression of wine enthusiasts gone wild in Ruby Hill.  Everyone was allowed to go whatever moved them, and I found myself with most of the women at the white wine table while my male counterparts fed at red wine trough.  I definitely had better company around my table.

Anyway, for the reds there was a clear winner out of the 10 different wines we tried, and after revealing it wasn’t too surprising.  Although, it was very surprising what turned out to be our last place wine.  But to the results first:

  • 1st Place – 1999 Silver Oak Napa Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon; no surprise as this maker is a California favorite, and this bottle received half to the top votes of wino’s in attendance; one of the strongest showings for an individual wine since we started this group a year ago; but of course, as the voting usually works, 2 people actually voted this their least favorite wines, proving again that all our palette’s are different.  I believe you can find this wine online for around $65, but be careful that you’re not fooled into buying the much cheaper Anderson Valley Cab from Silver Oak.  I was fooled once there, and I wasn’t happy, but my fault for not paying enough attention.  The Napa vintage was deep, rich, and ready to go.Image
  • 2nd Place – A very nice showing for the 2007 Barrett Vineyards Spring Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon; retails today around $55 at K&L and other sites; I wish I had better tasting notes besides the raw scores, but I thought this wine showed very nicely and would be great with a Thanksgiving feast.
  • The other entrants this month included the 1998 Mondavi Reserve Cab (last place, but I think was a corked bottle), 2009 Cakebread Syrah (tough for a Syrah to show well against cabs), 2008 Fontanella cab, 2007 Keenan, 2008 Lamborn Zin, 2009 Stags Leap Artemis, 2007 Larkmead Cab, and the 2009 Louis Martini cab.

The winner for the five white wine entrants was the 2009 Hirsch Vineyards Chardonnay.  This small production chardonnay is currently sold out at the winery, but you can find it online for around $50.  Is a really crisp bottle that had a nice mineral texture to it.  This pinot/chardonnay producer is on the Sonoma Coast, so gets a little harsher weather that produces some really nice wines and likely is a winery I’d like to visit when up in Sonoma next.  A shocking 2nd place in the whites went to the mass produced/grapes from who knows where 2010 Kirkland chardonnay (yes, that’s right, Costco wine came in 2nd place here).  Definitely the value play of the night.  Other whites in the mix included the 2009 Mondavi Chardonnay, 2007 ZD Chardonnay, and the 2010 Cakebread Chardonnay.

That’s it this month.  Hope you enjoy.

Cheers!

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

