5 Reasons I Blog, and 1 Reason I Don’t

On my travels to Peru with my oldest son, I had a lot I time to reflect (something I don’t normally have time to do at home with a high-paced job and 4 kids to navigate). I’ve been able to devote more time to writing, which I’ve found to be really fun and therapeutic, and also something that I look forward to do on a daily basis. In one of my reflection moments, after reading a number of blogs from world travelers and people who quit their jobs to travel the world, I got to thinking, “What is my purpose with my blog/writing?”.

I had never really thought about my blog having an overall purpose, as I’ve just picked topics that were interesting to me at the time, like wine, music, family, business, or investing. All plausible and interesting subjects, but not much cohesion or central thread.

So here are the reasons I blog:

1) Memory – meaning I don’t have a good one. So I need to write things down to remember them, otherwise the pace of life takes over and the thought is overrun by the avalanche of competing things in my life.

2) Chronicling – its been fun to chronicle a trip like this Peru trip with my 13 year old son, so that we have a central place to capture pictures and our experiences together.

3) Communication – blogging is a great way to reach out to family friends about what’s important in your life at the moment, without having to repeat the story a number of times. Is more robust than just following my Twitter feed, and more efficient than having individual phone calls, and more dynamic than sending an email.

4) Branding – I am interested in building my online brand, and a blog is a great way to augment the 140 character limit of Twitter (although Twitter is a GREAT distribution medium for a blog). I’ve struggled with the diversity of topics though, as it tends to dilute a specific brand, but that’s who I am. I have a lot of diverse interests and insights, so maybe the hodge-poge is the right way for me.

5) Fun – if it’s not fun, then it typically isn’t worth doing. I find writing to be fun, and hopefully I can come across a little funny at times. The idea is to not take ourselves too seriously, and enjoy life.

And what is not a reason I blog?

To make money. I could care less about that aspect of writing. Might change in the future, maybe. But for now, it’s not a motivating theme to my writing.

I hope that some people can become independent in their lives through an income stream they can derive from
their blog. Me, I’m happy with my life: my family gives me so much love and enjoyment, and my work is challenging yet extremely fun. So I don’t have a burning desire to sell all my belongings and live in an RV with my family or travel the world living in hostals, like so many other blogs I’ve read.

I’m perfectly happy to live in the great community like Pleasanton, spend 2 hours a day commuting to work so I can work in a vibrant setting with amazing clients and team members, and come home and spend the evening with the family or the weekend at some youth baseball tournament in Modesto.

The title of my blog is “Thoughts from the Hill, the Valley, and the Fields”. That’s reference to the community we live in (the “Hill” refers to Ruby Hill, the section of Pleasanton we live in), where I work (the “Valley” being Silicon Valley), and my family (the “Fields” representing the playing fields we’re normally at on weekends). Family, community, and vocation…maybe I do have a theme to my blog and I don’t know it. It can be broad, but that’s who I am, so I’ll continue writing about things that interest me or pop into my head. Or maybe I’ll post a random picture or video, but I can assure you that it will be diverse and hopefully a little fun. Enjoy!

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Family, Field, Hill, Valley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

