Peru Trip Day 2: Cuzco, A Great First Impression

We got to the wonderful city of Cuzco today, which is 11,200 feet above sea level, so the air is thin. Cade and I were met at the airport by Claudia, the receptionist at Hostal Magico in the afternoons, and Chemistry student otherwise at a local university. It was quite a relief to see her holding that sign with my name, as I wasn’t quite sure where we were going. She was incredibly welcoming to us, and showed us around the Hostal. There we met a charming 4-yr old boy named Eduardo who was at first shy, but warmed up to us quickly. He was throwing his tattered foam ball at us while mumbling Spanish, reminding Cade and I a lot of Sean. Already missing the family.

We walked around the city and down to the Plaza, where we promptly stopped at the Starbuck’s for a green tea and some wifi. I also wanted to visit the house we are staying in the rest of our trip, La Casita de Haydee. The whole Aldea Yanapay program is pretty incredible program they have with the school, cultural center for older kids, Hostal, private home for volunteers, and a restaurant. A couple we met at Haydee’s House commented that this is the best volunteer program they’ve found anywhere. How I was lucky to stumble upon it I’ll never really understand.

As we walked around and visited the Starbuck’s, various shops, and Cafe Aldea Yanapay, Cade proved to be a great interpreter. I can see him getting more comfortable using his Spanish, which is exactly what I had hoped for. He even commented how cool it would be to live here for a year some time (YES!!!! But I don’t think Janet would like that too much.). It’s just great that he’s feeling comfortable here so quickly.

I’m including more pictures today, although I’m not sure why you don’t see Cade or I in any of them. Enjoy!

20111228-190727.jpg

20111228-192505.jpg

20111228-192714.jpg

20111228-193332.jpg

20111228-200644.jpg

20111228-200701.jpg

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peru Trip Day 2: Cuzco, A Great First Impression

  1. Liam says:

    Mark, this is awesome. Thanks for sharing. This brings back memories as I traveled to Peru many years ago. I’m guessing it hasn’t changed too much. We went to Lima, Cuzco, Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes (the small town below Machu Picchu) and Lake Titicaca. Not the most luxurious trip, but loved every minute of it. Mine was in no way philanthropic though, so good for you for giving something back. Godspeed and enjoy the rest of your trip. I look forward to your posts.

    • Liam says:

      Also, if you haven’t already, try the mate de coca. Made from the coca plant, which is illegal in the U.S., but I think it’s relatively harmless in the tea form. Helps acclimate to the high altitude in Cuzco.

  2. Pingback: Peru Trip Day 4: Aztecs Invade Sacred Inca Land | Thoughts from the Hill, the Valley, and the Fields

Leave a Reply

