Heading to Peru

Tomorrow morning my 13 year old son and I take off for two weeks in Peru. I hope to blog daily from my iPhone, so follow along if interested (and excuse typos and formatting issues).

The original idea of this trip started six or seven years ago as my oldest son was just starting school in Pleasanton at Valley View Elementary. The school offers a Spanish dual-immersion program, and my wife and I felt that exposing our son (and eventually his three younger brothers) to language would be a great way to get more out of a public school education than most get. What a GREAT program we’ve found it to be. Besides being an opportunity to learn and think in a different language, my wife got the idea that it would be great to travel to places like Spain with an interpreter like our son.

This idea turned into wanting to travel individually with each of our kids in their early teens, and incorporating some volunteer aspect to the trip.

So we take off tomorrow from SFO to fly to Lima. This is an all day flight, so we’re loaded up on books and fully-charged iPods. We get in late Tuesday, an will fly to Cuzco the next morning where we’ll spend most of our trip working at Aldea Yanapay, and after-school program for kids in Cuzco. We’ll spend two days visiting Machu Picchu, although that isn’t the focus of our trip. We won’t be with any tour group, an don’t have a lot planned for our trip.

I’ll admit I’m a bit nervous at the adventure we’ll embark on together, and I’m not really sure what to expect. I am looking forward to having to rely on my son completely to navigate our trip (direct the cab driver, ask for directions, or order dinner).

Stay tuned.

20111226-201639.jpg

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heading to Peru

  1. Mark Harris says:

    Awesome. Have a great trip.

Leave a Reply

