Wave and Bing for Neophytes

The technology competition wars are heating up significantly, and that’s good for all of us:  corporate users, personal emailers, teen-IM’ers, and soccer-moms alike.

The two behmoths in the technology industry, Google and Microsoft, are both taking steps to become a little like each other, with Google previewing Wave to developers and Microsoft introducing Bing at the All Things Digital conference in Carlsbad this week.

I’ll try my best to provide a synopsis of each here, based on what I’ve read out there.  There’s a ton of information , primarily from market pundits or technologist, and I’ll try to distill what I can for you here:

Google’s Wave is aiming to attack the Microsoft productivity suite, and change the face of email to a richer conglomeration of communication, file sharing, instant messaging, video/photo sharing, collaboration tools like wikis, and incorporate many of the social media trends like Twitter, FriendFeed, and Facebook all in one place.  I’ve recently become very disenfranchised with email, suggesting that the alternatives being worked on by Xoopit and Xobni may be what we all need to make email a more productive tool.  Sometime over the past twelve months, email stopped being a productive communication medium for me, and more of a drag on my daily efficiency.  Given the amount of Tweets about people spending late night hours clearing out their inboxes, it sounds like I’m not alone in my growing disdain for email.  I’m hoping Google’s Wave is a step in the right direction.

Microsoft’s Bing isn’t ready for prime time yet, with a query of Bing reveals a “Coming Soon” banner, and a link to a video to learn more.  From what I can tell, it doesn’t look as if Microsoft simply tried to create a new search engine, but change the way we think about search.  They term it a “decision engine” to help you make relevant decision based on what you’re looking for.  I’ve talked to many of my colleagues about my increasing frustration with the lack relevancy and timeliness of Google search results and how Twitter begins to address some of those issues.  What Bing looks to do is increase the chance you’ll find what you’re looking for on the results page, and that you won’t have to navigate away to a link as Google currently requires you to do.  It will allow you to quickly preview pages, picures, and videos without having to navigate away.  I’m not sure this will cure my timeliness issue, but should address the relevancy issue more quickly for users.

Here’s hoping they both succeed.

About svbmark

I'm a father of four boys; live in the Tri-Valley of the SF Bay Area; technology enthusiast; work with entrepreneurs and venture investors; SF Giants fan; budding wine lover
This entry was posted in Tech, Valley and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

